Which are the major photographic division of India?

The major physiographic divisions of India are Great Mountains of the North-North Indian Plain-Peninsular Plateau, Coastal Plains and The islands. Himalayas comprise the Himadri or the northern most range, Himachal is the middle Himalayas while Shivalik ranges make the outer Himalayas.

Which are the major physiographic division of India answer?

They are: The great Himalayas, the northern plains, the peninsular plateau, the coastal plains, the Indian desert, and the Islands. All the physiographic divisions are different from each other in various contexts.

Which are the major physiographic divisions of India list them all?

Name the major physical divisions of India.

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

Which is the largest physiographic divisions of India?

The Peninsular Plateau:

It covering an area of about 16 lakh sq km forms the largest and oldest physiographic division of India. It is bounded by the Aravallis in the North-West, Maikal range in the North, Hazaribagh and Rajmahal Hills in the North-East, the Western Ghats in the West and the Eastern Ghats in the East.

What is the 6 physiographic division of India?

On the basis of physical features,India can be divided into following six divisions The Northern mountains 2. The Northern Plains 3. The Indian Desert 4. The Peninsular Plateau 5.

IMPORTANT:  Your question: Which state has highest number of tiger reserve in India?

What are the six physical divisions?

The six major physical divisions of India are Northern Mountains, North Indian Plain, Peninsular Plateau, Great Indian Desert, Coastal Plains & Islands.

Which is oldest part of India?

The Peninsular plateau.

  • The peninsular plateau was one of the parts of the gondwana landmass which drifted away.
  • Hence, it is the oldest landmass of the indian subcontinent.

Which physical part of India is largest?

The Peninsular Plateau is the largest physical division of India. It covers an area of around 16 lakh square kilometres.

Which physiographic region is oldest in India?

The Peninsular Plateau

  • Aravali Range is the oldest mountain range in India, running across Rajasthan from northeast to southwest direction, extending approximately 800 km (500 mi). …
  • Vindhya range, lies north of Satpura range and east of Aravali range, runs across most of central India, extending 1,050 km (650 mi).
Dreams of India