How many states were there in India at the time of independence?

From 565 princely states and 17 provinces before partition, to 14 states and 6 Union Territories following the Reorganisation of States in 1956 to 29 states and 7 union territories in 2014, now after the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir to 28 states and 9 Union Territories after it.

How many states were there at the time of independence?

At the time of the British withdrawal, 565 princely states were officially recognised in the Indian subcontinent, apart from thousands of zamindari estates and jagirs. In 1947, princely states covered 40% of the area of pre-independence India and constituted 23% of its population.

How many states were there in India?

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

Which states joined India after independence?

In December 1947, princes from the Eastern India Agency and Chhattisgarh Agency were summoned to an all-night meeting with Menon, where they were persuaded to sign Merger Agreements integrating their states into Orissa, the Central Provinces and Bihar with effect from 1 January 1948.

IMPORTANT:  How much does it cost to build a 1 acre solar farm in India?

Which is the first state of India?


State Foundation day Year
Karnataka Karnataka Day 1956
Kerala Kerala Day
Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Day 1950
Maharashtra Maharashtra Day 1960

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 as ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

Which state in India was not under British rule?

Apart from Hyderabad, there was one more state that had not acceded to the Indian union by August 15, 1947, the Gujarati state of Junagadh.

Which was the biggest princely states at the time of independence?

Hyderabad was the biggest princely state at the time of Independence. It was a Hindu majority state with a Muslim ruler.

Which state became a part of India in 1975?

The Indian Parliament gave its final approval to the constitutional amendment making Sikkim a state on 26 April 1975. On 15 May 1975 Indian President Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed ratified a constitutional amendment that made Sikkim the 22nd state of India and abolished the position of the Chogyal.

Dreams of India