How many countries surround Indian Ocean?

List of sovereign states and dependent territories in the Indian Ocean. This list of sovereign states that either border on or are in the Indian Ocean consists of 38 countries, with 13 in Africa, 22 in Asia, 1 in Oceania, and 2 in Europe.

Which country owns the Indian Ocean?

Originally Answered: Does the Indian Ocean belong to India? India has its share in the Indian ocean in the area from 12 nautical miles (approximately 18 kilometers) from coast. This is what recognised by UN. The rest part of Indian ocean around the subcontinent is shared by Sri Lanka or Maldives.

Which is the Indian largest island?

The Andrott Island is the largest island with an area of 4.90 sq km, length of 4.66 km and a maximum width of 1.43 km.


Island at a glance
Population(2011) 11191
Density(per 2312
Access by Air and Sea from India,South-west coast
IMPORTANT:  What were the cause and effects of British rule in India?
Dreams of India