You asked: Is Indian Ocean part of India?

Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. The Indian Ocean is bounded by Iran, Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh to the north; the Malay Peninsula, the Sunda Islands of Indonesia, and Australia to the east; the Southern Ocean to the south; and Africa and the Arabian Peninsula to the west.

Which states in India have Indian Ocean?

Arfa Javaid. India has a coastline of 7516.6 km– 5422.6 km of mainland coastline and 2094 km of island territories. Indian coastline touches nine states– Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, West Bengal and two union territories– Daman and Diu and Puducherry.

Which country controls the Indian Ocean?

India has naval capabilities near the Indian Ocean chokepoints especially around the Malacca Strait which connects the Indian Ocean to the Western Pacific, these waters hold a lot of importance for China since it is a crucial route for energy and trade.

Why Indian Ocean is called India?

The Indian Ocean is named after India because of its strategic location at the head of the ocean from ancient times and its long coastline which is longer than any other country in the Indian Ocean rim.

Does India lies at the head of Indian Ocean?

India stands at the head of the Indian Ocean at the very centre of the Eastern hemisphere commanding trade routes running in all directions. East and West coast have many natural harbours due to which India had a flourishing sea trade from ancient times.

IMPORTANT:  Your question: Who is the head of Municipal Corporation of Delhi?

Which country has no ocean?

The largest country with no border-access to the open ocean is Kazakhstan, which has an area of 2,724,900 km² (1,052,100 mile²) and is bordered by Russia, China, Kyrgystan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, and the landlocked Caspian Sea.

Dreams of India