Your question: Who was the prime minister of India in 1990 January?

Who was Prime Minister in Jan 1990?

Singh resigned on 7 November 1990. His prime ministerial tenure lasted for 343 days. Singh was the prime ministerial candidate for the National Front in the 1991 elections, but was defeated.

Vishwanath Pratap Singh
President R. Venkataraman
Deputy Chaudhary Devi Lal
Preceded by Rajiv Gandhi
Succeeded by Chandra Shekhar

Who was in power in 1990 in India?

Later Chandra Shekhar became Prime Minister from 10 November 1990 till 21 June 1991 with outside support from Indian National Congress under Rajiv Gandhi. The next 10th Lok Sabha was formed on 20 June 1991 after the 1991 Indian general election.

Who was ruling India in 1991?

P V Narasimha Rao of Indian National Congress became the Prime Minister of India from 21 June 1991 till 16 May 1996, after INC won 244 seats, 47 more than previous 9th Lok Sabha.

IMPORTANT:  What is Indian liquor called?

Where was Vishwanath Pratap Singh born?

Who is PM of India?

Which party was in power in 1990?

The incumbent Indian National Congress (I) government under the premiership of Rajiv Gandhi was defeated by the National Front, an alliance forged by Janata Dal, which won a plurality of seats.

What is the salary of a prime minister in India?

Prime Minister of India

Prime Minister of India Bhārat ke Pradhānamantri
Unofficial names PM
Deputy Vacant, Deputy Prime Minister of India
Salary ₹280,000 (US$3,900) (per month) ₹3,360,000 (US$47,000) (Annual)

Which party was in power in 1991?

1991 Indian general election

Leader P. V. Narasimha Rao L.K. Advani
Leader’s seat Nandyal New Delhi (vacated) Gandhinagar
Seats won 244 120
Seat change 47 35

Who was the prime minister in 1989 in India?

Members of Nehru–Gandhi family have been prime minister for a total of 37 years and 303 days. Rajiv’s five-year term ended with his former cabinet colleague, Vishwanath Pratap Singh of the Janata Dal, forming the year-long National Front coalition government in 1989.

Who was ruling India in 1992?

Rao ministry

P. V. Narasimha Rao ministry
Head of state R. Venkataraman (until 25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992) Shankar Dayal Sharma (from 25 July 1992)
Head of government P. V. Narasimha Rao
Member party Indian National Congress (Congress alliance)
Status in legislature Minority 256 / 543 (47%)

Who won 1992 election in India?

Elected President

The Election Commission of India held indirect 10th presidential elections of India on 16 July 1992. Shankar Dayal Sharma with 675,864 votes won over his nearest rival George Gilbert Swell who got 346,485 votes.

IMPORTANT:  Your question: Is Passport required for Andaman from India?

Why was DMK government dismissed in 1991?

On 30 January 1991, the DMK government which had come to power after winning the 1989 assembly election, was dismissed by the Indian Prime minister Chandra Shekhar using Article 356 of the Indian Constitution. … The reason cited for the dismissal was the deterioration of law and order in the state.

Who was the home minister in VP Singh Govt?

Cabinet ministers

Portfolio Minister Party
Prime Minister Vishwanath Pratap Singh JD
Deputy Prime Minister Chaudhary Devi Lal JD
Minister of Home Affairs Mufti Mohammad Sayeed JD
Minister of External Affairs I. K. Gujral JD

Which party belongs to VP?

Who is the prime minister of India from 1947 to 2020?

Jawahar Lal Nehru, the first prime minister of India was appointed on 15th August 1947 and Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current prime minister of India.

Prime Minister of India List.

Prime Minister Name Period
Jawahar Lal Nehru 15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964
Gulzarilal Nanda 27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966
Dreams of India