Who was the last viceroy of India answer?

Viceroy and Governor-General of India
Lord Mountbatten Last Viceroy of British Raj Chakravarti Rajagopalachari Last Governor-General of Dominion of India
Style His Excellency
Residence Government House (1858–1931) Viceroy’s House (1931–1950) Viceregal Lodge (1888–1947)

Who was the last viceroy of India Question Answer?

Complete solution:

Lord Mountbatten was the last Viceroy of the British Indian Empire and the first Governor-General of independent India. The formula of ‘independence with a partition in India’ was almost accepted by Indian leaders before Lord Mountbatten became Viceroy in place of Lord Wavell.

Who gave up India?

Louis Mountbatten, 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma

Admiral of the Fleet The Right Honourable The Earl Mountbatten of Burma KG GCB OM GCSI GCIE GCVO DSO ADC PC FRS
Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru
Preceded by Himself (As Viceroy and Governor-General)
Succeeded by C. Rajagopalachari
Viceroy and Governor-General of India

How many viceroys were there in India?

Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy Tenure
Lord Minto II 1905 – 1910
Lord Hardinge II 1910 – 1916
Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921
Lord Reading 1921 – 1926

Who wrote a history of British India?

Who was the last Viceroy of India Class 8?

Answer: (b) Warren Hastings. Question 2: Who was the last viceroy of India?

What made British to leave India?

1947: Partition of India

IMPORTANT:  What is Mumbai High question answer?

During World War Two, the British had mobilised India’s resources for their imperial war effort. They crushed the attempt of Mahatma Gandhi and the Indian National Congress to force them to ‘quit India’ in 1942. … For this reason, Britain was desperate to keep India (and its army) united.

Dreams of India