What is the Hindu Kush Himalayan region?

Which country belongs to Hindu Kush Himalayan?

The Hindu Kush-Himalayan (HKH) region encompasses an area of mountains in the eight countries of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan.

Why are the Hindu Kush mountains important?

The HKH mountains abound with diverse natural resources. They provide valuable ecosystem goods and services including water, food, energy, biodiversity, and hydrological regulating functions to support the livelihoods of people living upstream and downstream.

Is Mount Everest in the Hindu Kush?

The Hindu Kush-Himalayan region is the home of a series of the highest mountains on earth, including the world’s highest and prominent peaks, Mt. Everest (8,850 m, Nepal) and K2 (8,611 m, Pakistan). … Forest or vegetation cover are important physiographic characteristics of the Hindu Kush-Himalayan region.

Was Afghanistan a part of India?

India and Afghanistan have historical ties, dating back centuries. The territory covered by modern-day Afghanistan was once part of India’s ancient Maurya Empire, and later, Mughals from the region travelled to India and taking control for centuries.

Which is the highest peak of Hindu Kush?

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: What was the Indian economic policy before 1991?
Dreams of India